Captain America #3

Captain America 03Ed Brubaker // Steve Epting with Michael Lark
March 2005
*****

After mopping up an abortive terror attack, Cap & Agent 13 earn some R&R in Paris. The city elicits nostalgia from the WW2 vet, whose collab w/ the Fr. Resistance (Lark’s pencils) lets the reader into the title char’s psyche & lets Ed B snub the idiotic “A for France” line in The Ultimates.

also indexed for Mar. ’05
Astonishing X-Men #9
Daredevil #69
Fantastic Four #522
Iron Man #3
The Pulse #7

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Captain America #3”

  1. jeremy09 Says:

    THIS is the run that got me following comics monthly after years away. I had heard good things about Brubaker’s Captain America run, and one day I saw the omnibus in Books-a-Million(remember those?) “Ok”, I thought, “I’ll read an issue or two of this but then I gotta get going if I’m gonna catch that movie”. So I sat in a chair, cracked it open, and started to read.

    A few hours and 22 issues later, I’m STILL in that chair, absolutely riveted by this thing. This was a really good monthly comic, the kind that builds over the longterm, all its various subplots with Sharon/Steve, Bucky the Winter Soldier, Red Skull’s takeover, etc, and its just so damn compelling. Its like the tv show 24 mixed with good ol’ sci-fi superhero comics. And it actually gets even BETTER once Steve kicks it in #25, in that big “Death of Captain America” arc from #25-42.

    I’ve been hooked on the monthly grind ever since 🙂

    • Aaron Strange Says:

      That’s awesome! Brubaker’s run of Cap was actually the last comic I collected monthly. I’d been waiting for the trade more and more in the ’00s, especially once everyone started restarting at #1s. When this one finally had a new #1 mid-run, I said ‘That’s it, I’m strictly TPB.’ One reason I’m re-reading all these comics is to decide which I keep, which I trash, & which I ‘upgrade’ to trade.

      So what comics are you reading currently?

Leave a Reply

